1. Favorite childhood book? The Little Princess by Francis Hodgson Burnett

2. What are you reading right now? First Rider’s Call by Kristen Britain

3. What books do you have on request at the library? I think the last one just came in the other day…

4. Bad book habit? Setting them facedown.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? Ghost Story by Jim Butcher

6. Do you have an e-reader? A Kindle

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I usually read several at once.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Not really – I read what I like and blog about what I read.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?) The Great Gatsbystupid English 301!

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year? I don’t think Pride & Prejudice is allowed to count since I reread it every other month or so. I’ve quite enjoyed Shalador’s Lady by Anne Bishop though.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Rarely, why inject tension and struggle into my most pleasurable pastime?

12. What is your reading comfort zone? Fantasy in most of its forms, mysteries, and the occasional romance.

13. Can you read on the bus? Nope. I get sick if I read in any moving vehicle… besides, too many creepy people on the bus to get lost in a book.

14. Favorite place to read? In my Book Nook or in the bath.

15. What is your policy on book lending? I do it very rarely, and only to friends I trust.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books? NO

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books? I broke that taboo this year…

18. Not even with text books? …yes…

19. What is your favorite language to read in? English. I can struggle through Spanish at a 1st or 2nd grade level, but it ceases to be pleasure reading at that point. Old English and Italian are beautiful, but I need a dual-language translation to enjoy them properly.

20. What makes you love a book? Characters I can become attached to and an engrossing plot. Great prose are just icing on the cake.
21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? I love it, and I think the person I’m recommending it to will love it as well.

22. Favorite genre? High Fantasy.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?) Nonfiction in general… isn’t that a sign of maturity?

24. Favorite biography? That of Princess Kaiulani.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? …no.

26. Favorite cookbook? AllRecipes.com

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? Erm… nothing comes to mind.

28. Favorite reading snack? Tea or Hot Chocolate or a Chai Latte.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience. Eregon… urgh.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book? Don’t pay attention to them.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? Oh! Those are so much more fun than positive reviews – I get to be sarcastic!!

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose? Italian.

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin? Haven’t met one yet… though I’ve met ones that were too intimidating to finish.

35. Favorite Poet? Jack Prelutsky.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time? 1 – 6.

37. How often have you returned books to the library unread? More times than I like to admit.

38.
 Favorite fictional character? Lizzie Bennet.

39. Favorite fictional villain? Hmmmm… the Sicilian from The Princess Bride.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation? Light, fluffy ones – usually Mercedes Lackey or Jane Austen.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading. A few months during my senior year of high school – AP classes were killers!

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish. The Medicine Hat Horse. They killed the horse halfway through! To my 8 year-old mind, that was unforgivable.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? The Internet.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel? “Much Ado About Nothing” and the 1996 “Pride & Prejudice”.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation? “The Two Towers” – What have they done to my Faramir??

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time? $70 or $80 – Christmas Money was a wonderful thing as a child!

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? Rarely.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through? Terrible writing or terrible characters.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized? Yes. By genre, subcategorized by similarities between series and how much I like them.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them? Keep them FOREVER.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding? A lot of recent YA fantasy. The premises sound interesting… but then I remember Clockwork Angel and Twilight…

52. Name a book that made you angry. A Handmaid’s Tale.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did? The Bride by Julie Garwood. My first ever Romance novel – I was ready to dismiss it on hand, but I ended up enjoying it tremendously.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t? Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading? Mercedes Lackey’s “Elemental Masters” series


