Being the Pride & Prejudice fanatic enthusiast that I am, I’ve sought out pretty much every re-telling and adaptation that I can get my grubby little hands on (with the exception of Kiara Knightly’s version – if I ignore it long enough, it’s bound to go away, right?). That’s why I was overjoyed when The Beloved Husband sent me a link to The Lizzie Bennet Diaries!

It’s a modern retelling of the story via Lizzie’s personal video blog that updates on Mondays and Thursdays. She talks about her mother, her new neighbors (guess who!), and we get to see Charlotte (who’s helping her film), and her sisters as they walk in on her vlogging.

Some of the scenarios in the book are switched around timeline-wise, and a couple of characters have been changed or combined, but it’s a remarkably funny and witty retelling. It’s so true to the spirit and feel of the original that I don’t mind the tweaks here and there, especially when they pay homage to the original as they change things.

So, to share the awesome, here’s the first video:

