So, The Fairy Godmother was the first book by Mercedes Lackey that I ever read and I loved it. Thanks to my ever-obliging cousin, I have easy access to most of Lackey’s novels and have enjoyed many more, but this one will always have a special place in my heart.

Our heroine is a spunky, down-to-earth young woman with more common sense than you’d expect from a faerie tale lass. This doesn’t really break any molds, since most of Lackey’s heroines are spirited and filled with common sense, but it’s still a refreshing change from many of the other books out there for the young adult fantasy romance genre.

Basically, a young woman whose own faerie tale never happened (though it was supposed to) becomes a Godmother and sets about reforming snotty princes, saving peasant girls from impending tales (think Brothers Grimm-esque fates here), and guiding the various faerie tale realms along the paths they need to go. Throw in a few unicorns, a smart-aleck talking mirror, and some ruthlessly organized Brownies, and we have ourselves an interesting twist on how the classic faerie tales we enjoy actually come to pass.

I know each time I do a Book of the Week, I gush about some specific aspect of the book that I really like (is kinda the point of this whole thing really) – this one will be no different. In the case of Mercedes Lackey, I love how true she stays to the lore surrounding the mythical creatures and the faerie tales she bases her novel off of. At the same time though, she creates a unique world – one that’s recognizable but not overly-predictable.

If  you’re an avid Mercedes Lackey fan, you’ll definitely want to read this if you haven’t already. If you love the original faerie tales (Grimm, Hans Christian Anderson, Folklore, etc.), you stand a good chance of loving this book. And, of course, if you enjoy a fluffy romance with that sunny mix of sarcasm and sweetness that characterize most fantasy romances, I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy this one. 🙂

The Fairy Godmother
Copyright © 2004 by Mercedes Lackey
First edition January 2004

