I love Little Women! I have since my mom first read it to me back in 3rd Grade and I’ve re-read it on my own countless times as I’ve gotten older.

It’s an inspiring book, really – with realistic characters who constantly strive to be better. There’s laughter and tears, anger, sadness, joy, and fun – just like in real life, which makes the whole thing all the more relatable and touching.

When I was younger, my favorite character was Beth. She was shy and quiet, just like I was. I sympathized with her dread of strangers and I wished that I could be as kind as she was. As I’ve got older, I empathize more with Jo. She’s hot-headed and determined and often speaks before she thinks. There is one chapter in particular that I can totally relate to where she completely loses her temper with her youngest sister. Even to this day, when I read it, I shake my head and chuckle in rueful understanding. Jo’s struggle to control her temper throughout the book matches my own and I often re-read those chapters when I’m in need of someone to commiserate with.

Louisa May Alcott does a wonderful job capturing family relationships. From Meg’s children (who remind me so much of my baby cousins) to the interaction between the four sisters and their mother, Alcott writes a family that could actually exist with members who you’d want to know in real life. That’s where the magic in this book lies, I think. Readers can empathize with these characters because they all remind us of people that we know.

Anyways, I think this book is amazing, both because of the wonderful characters and because of the way it’s written – in very easy-to-read, relaxed prose. The characters’ universal desire to become better people is refreshing and inspiring (all the more so because of their failures as well as their successes), and, honestly, the family dynamic is just fun to read.

