My mom is a great lover of books. She passed that love of literature on to me by reading to me constantly when I was young. From Dr. Seuss books to Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, she read me just about every type of book out there.

One of the ones that I enjoyed the most was These Happy Golden Years, the last book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series. I was fascinated by her life as a schoolteacher, sufficiently worried about the volatile Mrs. Brewster, amused by the antic’s of Laura’s family and friends, and captivated by the budding romance and eventual marriage between Laura and Almanzo.

I especially loved the chapters devoted to Almanzo’s taming of his colts (being a horse-crazy child) and I got such evil joy out of the snot-nosed Nellie Olsen’s comeuppance.

Golden Years is a book that I enjoy rereading to this day. In fact, my nostalgia is so strong, I haven’t bought my own copies yet because I am that attached to the ones from my childhood – I’m holding out for the actual books that my mom read to me.

Anyways, there’s my favorite childhood story. I love it still! 🙂

