I don’t suppose Bram Stoker’s Dracula counts, because I’ve attempted to read that one numerous times and I always get stuck and give up halfway through. So, technically, I could say I’ve gotten around to looking at it.

Oscar Wilde’s Portrait of Dorian Gray was on the list, but, thanks to extended jury duty, I happily got to read it a few months ago.

This leaves me with Charles Dickens’ Nicholas Nickleby. I’ve seen my mom’s copy – it’s at least two and a half inches thick – and that’s the paperback version. A wee bit daunting, even for me.

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I saw the movie starring Charlie Hunnam and Anne Hathaway back in 2002. I loved the movie, and since I almost always find the book to be better than the movie, I really wanted to read the original.

My only excuse is lack of time, I suppose. Life is busy and it’s a long book. Still, I will get around to it one of these days!

