Okay, so who doesn’t love The Princess Bride? It’s full of sparkling humor, grand adventure (of the old Romantic proportions), and oh-so-serious, fun-loving characters. It sums itself up so perfectly: “Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles…” What more could a reader want?

I actually have a confession to make. I didn’t know that this was a book until I was 14 years old.

I’d grown up on the movie (which I adored and could quote in its entirety) but I, voracious reader that I was, had no idea that the story existed in printed form until I hit high school. Luckily, one of my friends had it as assigned reading and so my ignorance was remedied.

After I popped my eyes back into my sockets, wiped the idiotic grin off my face, and stopped salivating over the cover, I promptly ran to the school library and bribed the librarian (I technically wasn’t allowed to check out a copy because it was a textbook for a class that I wasn’t in – not that paltry details like that ever stopped me). With the promise to return it within 48 hours, I took my precious book and proceeded to read it from cover to cover over the course of my 5th and 6th periods.

What I love most about the book version are the editorial notes. The fabricated “original” version is a genius idea and the supposed “edits” are hysterical. I love an author who can make fun of himself and of his genre’s writing tropes.

I really don’t think I can come up with sufficient praise for this story. Both the book and the movie are wonderful (a rarity) and, humor and satire and fun aside, the story is compelling and exciting. The characters are entirely lovable and deliciously despicable as their roles demand and all of them play their parts so perfectly. It all works so well together that the resulting awesomeness is really inconceivable.

