So, I’ve been thinking… why do I read? What are my expectations of my books?

See, the Beloved Husband reads to get information. Online magazine articles, professional journal entries and G.U.R.P.S manuals are all steady parts of his diet. Since he reads slowly, he usually avoids longer novels (or I read them aloud for both of us) in favor of books that are split into small, stand-alone chunks.

Some friends of mine look at their books like mini-vacations. They read to escape into another time or place. I find that they enjoy longer fantasy novels and historical fiction more than other genres.

Other people read to be inspired. Those readers seem to lean towards biographies and stories about real people and actual events in our history.

So where does that leave me? Well, I’m probably closest to the first group. Since I read quickly, I don’t need to concentrate on processing the words themselves; rather, I just relax and enjoy the story. It’s like watching a movie in my head. I think that’s why (as stated in an earlier post) I value a good plot over spectacular writing. The story itself is what draws me in and holds me – good writing is just icing on the cake.

Finally, after enough re-reads, I start to look at particular books as staunch companions. Pride & Prejudice, Dragonsinger, Illusion, Fairy Godmother, and a whole plethora of others have been on my bookshelves for a long while and they aren’t going anywhere. I look at each of their worn out covers fondly as I think on the countless hours I’ve spent immersed in their worlds.

So I guess the point of this whole thing is: I read for the enjoyment and excitement of discovering new worlds and I hold my books to the standards of Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Anne Bishop. I want a book that is original and imaginative and shows me something I haven’t seen before.

So yeah… that’s why I read. 🙂

