I stumbled across this entry over at “A Paperback Life”. It’s from a weekly meme hosted by Indie Reader Houston called “5 Best Books“. The whole point is to list your top five books for each week’s prompt. I’m not sure if I’ll do too many of these, but I liked this one.

The topic for the week of August 14th is “5 Best Books to Re-Read”. So, without further ado…

  • Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice – This is my go-to book when I want to read something, but don’t know what. I talked about it a lot in my entry, “Your All-Time Favorite Book“, so I won’t go into too much depth here. Suffice to say, the story draws me in every time, I love both the tone and the quality of the writing, and there is always something new to find in the text. It’s just a wonderful book all around!
  • Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonflight – As much as I love Dragonsinger, Dragonflight is a better re-read. Since it can be read as a stand-alone book, it’s got a more cohesive plot. F’lar and Lessa are a bit more dynamic and active than Menolly and Sebell are, and the story has a sense of urgency. After all, Potential Extinction has a bit more inherent drama than a coming-of-age story does. Once again, I wrote about this one in an earlier entry.
  • Gerald Morris’s The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf – It’s a children’s adaptation of one of the Arthurian Legends, but it’s still a lot of fun. Lynet, our heroine, is most definitely not an average medieval princess. Shrewd, sarcastic, not pretty, and she has an appetite. For the entire book, other characters are amazed at the amount she can eat. This isn’t part of a curse or spell to affect beauty and such, it’s just part of who she is and leads to the personality quirk of her getting grumpy when hungry (something that we are shown rather than told – how refreshing!) Anyways, the humor is bright and quirky, the characters interact well, and the plot carries on at a good pace. I’d recommend this one to any person who loves King Arthur stories, regardless of age.
  • Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women – I’ll never get tired of reading this one. The book’s strength is its characters and the family dynamic between them. Their struggles are struggles that real people have and their desire to overcome them is inspiring. It’s a book where the characters’ flaws are not off-putting because they aren’t solely there to be plot devices – they successfully add depth to each character. And, yep, I’ve written about this book before, here.
  • Last, but not least, Ekaterina Gordeeva’s My Sergei: A Love Story – Gasp! A biography! One of two in my collection. I love the story of Olympic ice skaters, Ekaterina Gordeeva and Sergei Grinkov. I idolized these two growing up (maybe not as much as I idolized Scott Hamilton, but still) and when I got older, I really enjoyed learning more about their childhoods and how they grew closer as a couple until they got married. Gordeeva has a wonderfully easy-to-read, conversational style of writing that fits the intimacy of the story she tells. Funny, poignant, and frightening by turns, I never get tired of reading it.
