Also known as Non Campus Mentis, this book is amazingly funny! It’s definitely best when read aloud with a group of friends. It’s one of the few books that has made me laugh til tears came out of my eyes, and I actually had to stop reading halfway through because my face and sides hurt from an excess of mirth!

The author, Anders Henriksson is a history professor who collected the most hilariously heinous mistakes from his students’ essays and compiled them into this book. He sorted the excerpts in chronological order, so it all reads like a mangled history book – starting in the beginnings  of civilization and ending in relatively modern times.

Normally, I’d give a quote or two or at least some sort of summary, but so much of the fun stems from the utter ridiculousness and unexpectedness of the statements in these essays, that I fear it would take away from a new reader’s experience to give any sort of spoiler. So, I’ll just say this: Check it out – trust me, you’ll be glad you did.

Some may weep for the state of our education when they read this, but my only tears were tears of laughter as I enjoyed the outlandishness of many of the claims. It’s really one of the funniest books I’ve read all year.

