Recently, in discussing these two respective types of media, I’ve found that many people consider them to be mutually exclusive.  You’ve heard the arguments about how too much video game time turns kids off of reading, yes? What about the one that says that video games stunt the imagination and lower the length of a kid’s attention span?

I am here as living proof that that isn’t always the case.

I love to read. A large part of that actually stems for exposure to video games as a child. My mom would play the old Super Nintendo RPGs (think Secret of EvermoreFinal Fantasy VI, and Legend of Zelda: Link to the Past) and read the dialogue aloud to me. Since this was back in the days of 16-bit graphics , I had to create my own faces for the characters on the screen. Still, I found the stories told in these games just as enthralling as the stories on my bookshelf.

See, in my case at least, my love of reading and words evolved from a love of the stories themselves. My perpetual question as a youngster was, “What’s going to happen next?” (a very annoying question when watching movies). That desire to know “what happens next” is what motivated me to read in the first place. The love for literature and my enjoyment of reading in general came later.

I happen to think that a good video game can inspire reading in general. If kids get hooked on a story, then (hopefully) they’ll seek out other things like it. The Halo or Mass Effect games can lead kids into the Sci-fi genre, while games like Dragon Age can get them into High Fantasy. Then we have the Fallout series that sparks interest in dystopian/post-apocalyptic novels. The potential is endless!

Anyways, that’s just me. I like both video games and books, so it stands to reason that the two don’t necessarily oppose each other. At least, that’s my view.

