So, this week’s Booking Through Thursday prompt is:

What are you reading right now, and would you recommend it? What’s next once you’ve finished?

So, given the multiple English classes I’m taking, I’ve got an extensive reading list right now! I’ll break it down into categories for you.

  • English 301: Literary Analysis – Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Early Greco-Roman & Norse Myth – various Homeric Hymns and stories of the gods.
  • Intro to Shakespeare – Titus Andronicus
  • For Funsies – Green Rider by Kristen Britain

As far as recommendations go, many classics are fun to read, so of course I’d have to say that Frankenstein is worth it. Same goes for Titus Andronicus (I think I’d be expelled from English Major-dom if I said otherwise). The Greek myths are fun, but I’m reading them from a specific textbook, so while I’d recommend them, I’d say get your dose elsewhere if you want to read them for fun.

This is the second time I’ve read Green Rider. It’s not a bad fantasy book – pretty standard fare though. I wouldn’t call it groundbreaking, but it’s solid and enjoyable to read. I actually like its sequel, First Rider’s Call, better. There is a noticeable leap in quality, so if the trend continues, High King’s Tomb should be quite enjoyable.

As for the last part of the prompt, What’s next?, I’ll break it down again.

  • English 301 – Great Gatsby
  • Myth – more short stories, heading into Roman culture.
  • Shakespeare – Macbeth
  • For Funsies – Call of Cthulhu by H. P. Lovecraft (time to finish it)
Anyways, there we go. Since I’m coming down with a cold, I’ll probably be able to blow through these. Bed rest makes for fast and furious reading!
