My apologies for missing yesterday’s blog post – I ended up lying down  for most of the day. Stupid cold!

As it stands, over the course of four pots of tea, three cups of water, a cup and a half of orange juice, two naps, and a piece of toast, I managed to finish Frankenstein! Yay sick me!

As with many Classics, the language and grammar are a bit daunting. The narrative style is also very different from our modern novels – very leisurely and rambling. There is a lot of time given to describing scenery – especially when Frankenstein is travelling to put off creating a mate for his Creature.

We’d probably call it superfluous writing now, but one of my teachers brought up an interesting point. Since they didn’t have TV back when these novels were written, people weren’t able to see the various places in the world unless they’d been there. By giving lengthy descriptions of exotic landscapes, authors allowed people who couldn’t travel to see the world.

The thing that surprised me the most though, is the fact that the creation of the Monster happens in a few vague sentences. We don’t get to see the process, and the moment itself is very anticlimactic. Most of the story goes towards telling of Frankenstein’s anguish at creating such a thing, the Creature’s anguish at being hated and alone, and both of their anguishes as the Creature kills all of Frankenstein’s loved ones.

Lots of anguish in this book.

The book wasn’t what I expected, really. Our adaptations focus much more on Mad Science, and horrible thrills. The actual story is more focused on the pathos of the situation and brings up Nature vs. Nurture, and other deeper themes about progression of evil and its causes.

While I’m not sure I’ll read this again, I know I’ll enjoy class discussion on it. There’s a lot of good stuff to work with. You never know, I may get another blog entry out of it!

But, now… time for another nap and more tea.

