This is one of those rare books that I picked off of the library shelf at random. To be fair, I stared at it every time I went in for a few months before I finally decided to read it (even when I was young, I was cautious about picking up books I knew nothing about).

In this case, I discovered a series that would quickly become one of my favorites and would greatly influence what genres I would gravitate towards as I got older.

The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady is a re-telling of the epic, romantic poem, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. Morris tells the same story through the eyes of Gawain’s squire, Terence using simplified prose. It’s the second installment of the Squire’s Tales series, and I’d say that the intended audience would be kids from 10 – 13 years old.

He fleshes out the adventures that the two of them have while searching for the Green Chapel and adds in a couple of new characters along the way. There’s also a greater focus on the Faerie World and its magical denizens, much to my delight.

All this makes for a fun and engaging story that is much more easily understood than the original version (no disrespect intended, but the poem itself is no easy read).

Of course, this story is geared towards younger readers, so it’s relatively short and light. Despite this though, it’s still enjoyable for older readers – especially those who love the old Arthurian Legends. Morris does a good job of not over-simplifying the story, but rather just making it more accessible. It’s obvious that he’s a great fan of the original Arthur stories, and that enthusiasm is what elevates his writing from a simple children’s adaptation to an actual, exciting adventure story for that age bracket in its own right.

Now, I’ll admit, I read this version long before I ever read the original poem – and I’m very glad that I did. Having the basic premise and framework from Morris’ story really helped me understand what was going on in the poem when I first read it in high school and when I read it again in college.

All that being said, I very much enjoy the original poem, and it makes me happy to have found a good quality adaptation of it for light reading! I highly recommend it to any Arthur fan – it’s well worth your time!

