Despite taking three English classes this semester, I find that I still have time for pleasure reading – such a nice surprise!

I just finished Kristen Britain’s Green Rider, and I must admit, I enjoyed it more this time through than I did the first time I read it. It’s still nothing spectacular, but it’s definitely a good, solid addition to the Fantasy genre.

The Green Rider magic system is especially interesting. If I remember right, the next book, First Rider’s Call, has a greater focus on that aspect of this world (which might be why I enjoy it more than its predecessor).

The pacing throughout  Green Rider is good – the story moves along at a sprightly pace, rarely getting bogged down in irrelevant details. In fact, one thing that I must applaud Britain on is how tightly she weaves her story together. Every scene has a purpose within the greater story, and every character ends up having a use outside of his/her main scene.

Despite that though, I really can’t give this book more than 3 or 3.5 stars. Very simply, the unique elements do not outweigh the obvious staple Fantasy elements. Too often, I found myself predicting the outcome of a scene instead of being caught up in the suspense because Britain was using a Fantasy cliche. I had this same reaction the first time I read Green Rider, so I know that it isn’t just because I’ve read it before. I don’t mind authors using genre staples, mind you… I just appreciate it when they try and disguise them.

Overall, this book is very easy to put down. It’s enjoyable, just not riveting. It took me about a week and a half to read – which is unheard of! Normally I can blow through a Fantasy novel of this length and difficulty in roughly five hours, but because the story didn’t really grab me, I’d leave it be for days at a time.

Now I’ve moved on to The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. It’s a long one – rivaling Neil Gaiman’s American Gods in length, so this one might take a week in its own right, whether I put it down or not. I’m on page 171, and it’s showing a great deal of promise! I know it’ll get its own entry once I’ve finished it.

