This week’s Booking Through Thursday prompt is a good one!

1. What do you think of reading aloud/being read to? Does it bring back memories of your childhood? Your children’s childhood?
2. Does this affect the way you feel about audio books?
3. Do you now have times when you read aloud or are read to?

So, onwards to the answers!

1. In our household we have the (newly started) tradition of reading The Princess Bride to each other when we get sick. This means we’re only on Chapter 3 or so, but it’s a lot of fun. I find that I quite enjoy having the Beloved Husband read to me.

While my mom read to me every day when I was little, I don’t really get nostalgic when the Beloved Husband reads aloud to me – mainly because I attribute my love of books to Story Time With Mom, so I think of it whenever I read. And, when we have children of our own, I will definitely read aloud to them whenever I get the chance.

2. Audio books are fun during car rides, but I really prefer music when I’m driving. See, I can read faster in my head than the audio book can narrate, so I prefer reading books myself (at least on the first run-through). I did quite enjoy listening to the Chronicles of Narnia audio books when I was in high school though.

3. Right now, the Beloved Husband and I are working through Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy together – meaning that I read it aloud to him and he provides commentary on what I read. It’s a lot of fun and we’re about half-way through Two Towers.

