I broke a long-standing Book Taboo of mine the other day… I… I wrote in one of my textbooks. And the worst bit? I did it in pen.

*Hangs head in shame*

It’s true, I’ve had textbooks since I was in 1st grade, and yes, I wrote in those – you know, the soft cover, workbook ones. This was the first time I’ve written in a “read-only” textbook. Now I cringe every time I pass that page.

I was always raised that you do not dog-ear the pages of your books, you do not write in them, and you do not leave them on the floor, face down, for someone to step on. Books need to be treated with care and respect, that way they last.

I suppose, since I kind of hate this textbook, and I don’t care whether or not it lasts might serve as some excuse for defacing it? No? I thought not.

Oh well, I’ll be out of that section soon and I won’t have to look at it anymore. Next time, I’ll just copy the passage down and mark it up on a sheet of binder paper. Then at least I’ll look like I’m taking notes!

