Reading at a restaurant in Nicaragua. ("Thieves of Heaven" by Richard Doetch)

This week’s Booking Through Thursday prompt asks,

Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them, or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?

I have a system for taking books on vacation. The first part involves the checklist:

  1. Mass-market paperback or smaller
  2. One of my top 10 favorite reads
  3. Lighter, comedic fare
  4. Easy to put down

The first one is pretty obvious – mass-market paperbacks are easy to pack. The second two guarantee I’ll enjoy it and actually relax as I read it. And the last one is to ensure that I actually have a vacation – if I pack a book that’s too engrossing (or, heaven forbid, a book that I haven’t read yet), I’ll never leave my hotel room!

Reading in our Victorian-style B&B during our trip to Shasta. ("Fairy Godmother" by Mercedes Lackey)

So the checklist narrows down my library. I usually end up taking at least one of the following books on vacation with me, usually two or three:

Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice

Mercedes Lackey’s Fairy Godmother

Reserved for the Cat also by Mercedes Lackey

Anne Bishop’s Dreams Made Flesh

Patricia Wrede’s Enchanted Forest Chronicles

Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing

Of course, there are always exceptions. Occasionally, I’ll break the paperback rule if I really want to read a book that I only have in hardback. And I have been known to smuggle Frank Peretti on vacation – hardly light or comedic material there. Same goes for Nora Robert’s Sign of the Seven Trilogy – very creepy.

And, of course, I cheat. I haven’t been on a vacation that I haven’t bought a book or two, usually new ones.

So, there we are. The vacation-time reading habits of a bookworm.

Aaaand... reading on the couch during our Honeymoon. ("The Oath" by Frank Peretti)

