So, for the sake of nostalgia, I’ll put Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness Quartet up for Book of the Week. I know, I know… it’s a whole series, not a book, but, hey, I’m lazy.

I read this series in Junior High and quite enjoyed it. I think some of her later series are technically better, but this one has childhood memories behind it. Out of all four books, The Woman Who Rides Like a Man is my favorite in that it’s the book where Alanna comes into her own and seems to find her footing and personal comfort zone.

I liked Alanna as a heroine – she walked the fine line between being a tomboy and a feminine girl without really straying into the “Mary-Sue” girl who wants to exist in a man’s role. I wish Pierce hadn’t felt the need to have her sleep with at least half of the male cast throughout the series, but that’s really my only complaint.

Anyways, this series is fun to read when you’re young. It doesn’t really grow well, so if it doesn’t have childhood nostalgia backing it up, older readers (I’d say 16 and up) will find it rather simplistic and trite.

