I cannot read in public.

For one thing, I’ve been taught that it’s rude. For another, I always feel the need to keep half an eye on the world around me, so I can’t really get immersed in my novel.

I discovered this quirk when I first began riding the local city buses when I started college. I sat down at the transit mall, opened a favorite book, and made it all of half a page before deciding that this just wasn’t going to work.

The quirk was reinforced when I tried reading in between my classes. Between bumping into random friends and that inexplicable need to be aware of what the people around me were doing, I never got more than a few paragraphs in.

So, these days, I confine my reading to my bedroom and in the bathtub – the two places where I am least likely to be disturbed.

