Booking Through Thursday has come up with a truly difficult conundrum this time:

“If you had to pick only 5 books to read ever again, what would they be and why?”

I suppose it’s better than the old “If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have one book, what would it be?” question, but still!! I have three ceiling high bookshelves that are filled! One is overflowing! How am I supposed to choose?

Oh well, I can try, I suppose.

1. Jane Austin’s Pride and Prejudice. I love that book and it makes me happy whenever I read it. I’ve all but memorized it, but I’m not bored with it yet!

2. Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, for pretty much the same reasons as my beloved P&P.

3. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I have the single-volume compilation, so it still only counts as one! HA! Aside from that, I’ve always admired Tolkien as a worldbuilder and as a writer, and I always fall into Middle Earth despite the superfluous poetry and overly-lengthy descriptions of the scenery.

4. My Bible, because it’s the book on which I try to base my life.

5. This is the hard one, because I can’t have any more after it. 😦  I’d probably have to choose my Hans Christian Anderson’s Faerie Tales compilation. That way I get dozens and dozens of short, fantastical tales, along with the awesome “Snow Queen”.

Would I be allowed to buy school notebooks in bulk to write down other stories from memory in this scenario, do you think? Or is that cheating? 😉

