A few weeks ago, a friend lent me Carolyn Turgeon’s Mermaid: A Twist on the Classic Tale. Alas, I wasn’t as impressed with it as I wanted to be.

I love faerie tale adaptations – I don’t mind the relative predictability that comes with basing the story on a previous tale, and I enjoy seeing what twists that the author can concoct.

Sadly, Turgeon’s retelling is pretty straightforward as far as retellings go. The twist comes at the end, so I won’t give it away, but I personally preferred the original ending to the one that she came up with.

I didn’t really empathize with any of the characters. None of them seemed fleshed out or even much more developed than their faerie tale counterparts. I think that’s where the biggest disappointment was for me. The whole point of retelling the story is to give more depth to the characters in it.

Beyond that though, I was thoroughly uninterested in the love triangle (as I usually am) and Turgeon had several Favorite Phrases that popped up multiple times a chapter, so that got grating after a while.

So, basically, this book is a very standard YA faerie tale-based romance. Nothing really to write home about, but nothing really terrible either.

