The second prompt for the “10 Weeks of Books” meme over at the Egotist’s Club is a fun one and goes rather well with my last TGIF entry!

What book(s) would you give a theme song to?

Well, it might be cheating, but Brian Froud’s World of Faerie is the first book to come to mind. The reason I classify this one as a possible cop-out is that it’s an Art Book, not a novel.

Anyways, World of Faerie is full of gorgeous paintings, all of which have such depth and color that I find them quite entrancing. Froud really captures the mystery and majesty of the High Sidhe, while enjoying the whimsy and fun of the smaller Fae. And then there are his Unseelie paintings – pretty and creepy at the same time! His artwork has inspired me for most of my life, and continues to give me motivation to grow as an artist.

I’d say that any song by Loreena Mckennitt could serve as a theme song here, but I think that “Dark Night of the Soul” works best. It’s rich and ethereal, as most of her songs are. It really fits with the artwork!

These are just a few of my favorite plates.

I highly suggest you check out his other work here!

