This weeks TGIF prompt over at GReads! is:

“Reading Blues: We all get them from time to time. What helps you overcome those reading slumps when nothing seems to grab your attention?”

I find that Reading Slumps are caused by being forced to read things that don’t interest me (yes, Oh Pile of Textbooks, I’m looking at you). To get out of one, I grab a favorite novel and start reading from a random point. That usually builds up enough momentum that I find myself starting a new book pretty soon afterwards.

My staples are:

  • Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • Fairy Godmother by Mercedes Lackey
  • The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady by Gerald Morris

One of these is usually enough to get me out of a slump, though I’ve had a few that were so bad that I didn’t read for pleasure for a few months. My poor friends and family can tell you that I got rather cranky towards the end of that one. I was saved by my cousin recommending (and forcibly loaning) a new book series that totally sucked me in – Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels novels!

