Booking Through Thursday asks,

“If you had to choose to live within a novel, which would it be?”

Oh, once again, it would be so easy to yell, “Pride & Prejudice!”, but I don’t think I’d be able to survive in Regency England –  modern hygiene has spoiled me for any earlier era. Not to mention, despite being known in my circle of acquaintances as being polite and even a bit old-fashioned, I don’t think my non-British manners would be quite up to par. Also, I can’t dance and my taste in music would shock everyone.

I think I’d be happiest in Little Women. If Jo March can survive and thrive in that environment, than so could I. Hygiene and musical taste aside, I think that I’d be able to fit into society decently well. I don’t know if I’d want to be a March sister or not, knowing ahead of time that I’d lose a little sister, but I’d definitely want to be a close friend. Meg and I would probably get along best, Jo and I would have great fun together but our arguments would be pretty brutal, Amy and I would bond over art but have little else in common, and, like everyone, I’d be protective of Beth.

If I lived in Pride & Prejudice, I feel like I’d be “quitting the sphere I’ve been brought up in”, but in Little Women, I’d be in much more familiar waters, so that’s where I’d choose to go, despite loving both books.

