Booking Through Thursday asks:

“Do you have any pet that has a name inspired by your readings? If not, what would you pick if you DID? Do any of your friends have book-based names for their pets?”

Names again! This time for pets, which means more wiggle room for “creative” naming.

I currently have no pets named after literary characters (though my parents’ cats are named ‘Hoban “Wash” Washburn III’ and ‘Zoe’ after Joss Whedon’s Firefly characters). As a child, I remember naming video game characters after figures in books. My mom and I did an Ivanhoe themed play through of Final Fantasy VII once, with Cloud being dubbed ‘Aethlestane’, and Red XIII going as ‘Wamba’, etc.

Right now, the Beloved Husband and I are planning on getting a kitten and we’ve decided to name it ‘Thor’ after the Norse god, not the comic book/movie star. Well, okay… a little bit after the movie. One of our motivations is the fact that I’ll be able to make a miniature catnip hammer toy and call it ‘Mew-mew’ instead of the tongue-tangling ‘Mjollnir”.

Another literary pet name that I like is ‘Grimalkin’ for a grey cat, but, alas, the Beloved Husband has said no.

