This week’s TGIF prompt over at GReads! is:

“From your personal collection of books, which ones hold the most value to you?”

Well, the most valuable book in my collection is one that my husband and I received for our wedding. His aunt gave us the family Bible – it’s an old, leather-bound King James with gorgeous color plate illustrations, and room in the front for family records. Such a treasure!

Other books that are valuable to me are my set of  Children’s Classics. I’ve got three – Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book & Other Stories, Hans Christian Anderson’s Faerie Tales, and A Child’s Book of Stories which contains various folk stories and faerie tales from around the world. Each book is a large hardback, with gold gilt lettering on the covers and color illustrations inside. These books are largely responsible for my love of reading and fantasy because they introduced me to stories like “Rikki Tikki Tavi”, “The Snow Queen”, and “The Red Shoes”.

And, of course, there’s my fancy copy of Pride & Prejudice – with its gilt lettering, illustrations, and hard binding!

So, those would be the books that I’d want to rescue if my house ever burned down.

