Here we are – the (current) last book in The Iron Druid Chronicles! Now I have to wait til November 27th to get the next one.

Anyways, Tricked is a good, solid addition to the series. It shows some of the aftermath of Hammered (though I suspect the fallout from that particular adventure will continue for quite a while) and sets the stage for future dangers. It is, essentially, a “Bridge Book”, in that very little happens that isn’t wrapping up the previous plot-lines or setting up new ones.

The strength of this book lies in its focus on Native American lore, using the god Coyote and the skinwalker monsters as foils for Atticus. This isn’t something you see a lot of, so it’s much more interesting than other lore. And I say this as a huge fan of Old English faerie stories and legends, but pretty much all mainstream Western fantasy draws from that source, so it’s refreshing to see something new.

As I read other reviews on this book, I saw several complaints that Hearne introduces all female characters, good and bad, by how pretty or sexy they are. The word “sexist” was batted around and a vague tone of disgruntlement crept into the discussion. While I’ll admit that they are right, Hearne does unfailingly comment on the physical appearance of the girls in this series, I’d like to point out that we are seeing the world through the eyes of a 2100 year old Irishman. I would say that any sexism that rears it’s head in the story would come from the character of Atticus – not necessarily from the author himself. After all, we have established that Atticus enjoys women, so the fact that their appearances would register in his mind and even influence his initial impression of the lady in question makes sense to me.

The only complaint that I have about this book is that a lot of time was spent in exposition. Hearne attempted to disguise it as Atticus teaching Granuaile about druidry, but it stood out nonetheless. I appreciate the need for exposition and I applaud Hearne for weaving it in as well as he did, but pages of nothing but Atticus lecturing can be a little dry.

Overall though, good book. I look forward to the next one. Hurry up, November!

