1. The act of reading for pleasure has become like a vitamin of sorts these days. If I don’t read something fun every day, I feel lethargic and get irrationally snappish.
  2. I probably won’t hear you if I’m deep inside a book… even if I respond to what you say.
  3. I keep my textbooks even after the class is over because they’re books and I can’t bear to part with them, even if I never actually read them…
  4. My guilty pleasure books are the historical romances that involve big, brawny Highlanders. I own enough to fill an entire shelf of one of my bookcases.
  5. If someone tells me that they really enjoyed the Twilight books, I automatically drop them several notches on my inner Respect-O-Meter. Yes, I am biased in that regard.
  6. I seem to be cursed to have all of my favorite fictional characters die, both in books and movies. Fred Weasley, Remus Lupin, Mad-Eye Moody, Charles “Trip” Tucker III, Fili & Kili, Beth March… the list goes on and on.
  7. That being said, I have gone through the Five Stages of Grieving over fictional characters.
  8. “Just one more chapter” actually means, “Go away and let me finish the book”.
  9. I apologize to my books if I drop them or accidentally treat them roughly… except for Order of the Phoenix. That one got a time-out for being too angsty.
  10. The best present the Beloved Husband has given me lately has been installing a shelf in my Book Nook so I can have somewhere to place my tea as I read. 🙂
