So sorry to have missed yesterday’s post! Bookwyrms who have 100 degree fevers tend to sleep and drink tea more than blog… 😦

Luckily, said sleep and tea seem to have helped immensely, because I CAN BREATHE THROUGH  MY NOSE AGAIN!!! and I’m back down to a normal temperature. Yay!

So, without further lamenting of poor health, I give you what should have been yesterday’s post:

Show Me Your Cover (For Reals This Time!)

I actually really like this prompt because it ties in so well with all those Bad Book Cover posts that I’ve done! Anyways, Booking Through Thursday asks:

What book(s) have your favorite covers? Something that’s perfect for the story, the tone, the colors, the mood… And did you pick up the book because of the cover? Or were you going to read it anyway, and the cover was just serendipitous?”

My top two favorite book covers are those of Paula Volsky’s Illusion and the original cover for Jennifer Roberson’s Lady of the Forest (they’ve changed it now to something horrible).

In the cases of both books, I picked them up because the covers intrigued me (being the cautious critter I am, I stared at the covers for a few weeks and read the plot synopses before actually reading them though).

I love the colors most of all, and the old-fashioned painted look of the covers. I think that fits both stories well – Lady of the Forest is a Crusades-era, Robin Hood story, and Illusion is a fantasy novel that draws on the atmosphere and time period as the French Revolution. Both have intricate plots and the depth and detail of these covers reflect that.

A close runner-up is Anne Eliot Crompton’s Merlin’s Harp – an Arthurian tale that I picked up because of the cover.

