Today’s prompt is:

“What is a book that you acquired in an interesting way?”

Well, I think the award for the most random goes to my copies of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone  and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I was a sophomore in high school, sitting with my friends in the hall, eating lunch (we had no cafeteria, therefore we either mooched classroom space from nice teachers or squished up in between the rows of lockers in the halls), when this random kid came up, dropped the two paperbacks in my lap and sauntered away, calling over his shoulder:

“The librarians gave me these to try and get me to read… whatever… you take ’em.”

I still have no idea who that kid was or why he chose to drop them in my lap, but I picked them up, dusted them off, apologized for their rough journey, and assured them that they would find a loving home in my bookshelf. I still have them – they sit on a lower shelf out in the living room with the Dragonlance Chronicles that I own.

HPs

