Today’s prompt is:

“What was your favorite picture book, your favorite juvenile fiction book, and your favorite Young Adult Book?”

 Well, my favorite picture book was The Twelve Dancing Princesses retold and illustrated by Ruth Sanderson. The pictures were gorgeous – I felt like I could get lost in them forever! I remember spending hours leafing through them and just admiring.

Ruth Sanderson Princesses Cover

silverwood_685

tumblr_mbfyfbtIdB1roedt4o1_1280

My favorite juvenile fiction book was probably A Little Princess by Francis Hodgson Burnett. I enjoyed the illustrations, loved Sara’s doll collection, and enjoyed the riches-to-rags-to-riches story immensely.

The YA genre has palled for me greatly in the past few years. I’m afraid I must have outgrown it or something, because I find a lot of the popular plot devices to be overused and trite. But, when I did enjoy YA, Tamora Pierce’s Alanna: The First Adventure was probably my favorite.

