Today’s prompt is:

208432288975532102_O7gJq7Cs“Most quotable novel and/or five of your favorite quotes from any of your books.”

Okay… my most quotable novel is… Pride and Prejudice! (Surprise, surprise) I quote it daily, both on purpose and without meaning to.

Five of my favorite quotes are:

  • “We are not going to die… And do you know why?… Because Thomas is too pretty to die. And because I’m too stubborn to die… And most of all because tomorrow is Oktoberfest, Butters, and polka will never die.”  Harry Dresden in Jim Butcher’s Dead Beat.
  • “I will smile, and murder while I smile.” – Richard in Shakespeare’s Richard III.
  • “An unhappy alternative is before you, Elizabeth. From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins….and I will never see you again if you do.” – Mr. Bennet in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.
  • “No, no! ‘Rare’ implies dangerously cooked. When I say rare, I mean, just let it look at the oven in terror, then bring it out to me!” – Wolf in Kathryn Wesley’s 10th Kingdom
  • “This story shall the good man teach his son;
    And Crispin Crispian shall ne’er go by,
    From this day to the ending of the world,
    But we in it shall be remembered-                                                                                                                         We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
    For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
    Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
    This day shall gentle his condition;
    And gentlemen in England now-a-bed
    Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,
    And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
    That fought with us upon Saint Crispin’s day.” – Henry in Shakespeare’s Henry V
