So, I know I’ve mentioned The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, a modern adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice delivered via a vlog on Youtube. It updated on Mondays and Thursdays, and there were times it was pure torture waiting for the Beloved Husband to get home in the evenings so we could watch it together.

Alas, it has come to a close. Last episode was on March 28th. 😦 Now my week seems so empty!

So, in commemoration, here’s the last video:

And here’s the link for the full series from the beginning.

I think this has been my favorite modern adaptation of P&P, and I’ve watched many (Bride and PrejudicePride & Prejudice: A Latter Day TaleLost in Austen, etc.). The actors brought new depth to the characters and the changes that the writers made helped translate many of Austen’s subtleties into forms that modern viewers can relate to and understand.

My favorite revelation was that Darcy was so willing to believe that Jane was just another fortune hunter because of his experience with Wickham and Georgiana. He whisked Bingley away before he could (in Darcy’s mind) get hurt by becoming too entangled with Jane because he hadn’t been able to stop Wickham from hurting his sister in a similar fashion. Rabid Austenite that I am, I had never quite connected those dots before I watched The LBD.

So, great series! I highly recommend it. The producers have started a Kickstarter campaign to raise money to make DVD copies of the series. I’d give out a link, but they’ve already surpassed their goal by about 400% last I looked (I think they actually surpassed their goal within the first 24 hours – ours is a rabid fanbase). However, if you want to check it out anyways and see the various neat stuff you can get for donating, they have a link on their Facebook page.

