DF02-FoolMoon-2001paperbackSo I liked several things about the Dresden series. First of all, I really enjoy the first-person narrative. I felt that this allowed me to really get into the character of Dresden in a way that I can’t get interested in most books’ protagonists.

In the Lord of the Rings, for example, none of the characters are particularly endearing to me because they don’t really seem to have any distinct voice or motivations. The narration tends to spend much more time on what they’re doing than why they’re doing it. In Dresden, Jim Butcher writes from a perspective of Dresden looking back on the events so this includes all of his motivations, thought processes, and of course snarky humor.

The humor was another thing that really drew me in. It ties together each event in the book in a cohesive voice and makes me much more interested in what’s going to happen next. The fleshing out of Dresden in particular made me actually care about what he was doing and why he was doing it.

Butcher also adds in a few flaws to keep him relatable. Dresden is shown as pig-headed, chivalrous in company that doesn’t want it, quick to anger, and sometimes quite dense, but he will always try to do the right thing (it’s even written on his tombstone).

I finished Storm Front a bit over halfway through my stay in New Orleans and ended up having to download the second book Fool Moon on my phone to keep reading before I got back. Unfortunately I dropped the reading habit when I returned home and was quickly distracted; luckily though, I returned to New Orleans this year. Thinking ahead, I politely asked for two Dresden Files and managed to finish the second of those on the ride back into town. This time, so far, I haven’t dropped off in my reading (something the wonderful wife is quite happy about) and I don’t intend to stop anytime soon. On Friday, I’ll share some of the things I haven’t enjoyed quite so much about the Dresden Files

– Written by the Husband of the Bookwyrm”

